Oklahoma City University will be back to defend its women's title, while a new champion will be crowned on the men's side when the fifth-annual Claud Jacobs Collegiate invitational tees off Sunday and Monday.


Oklahoma City, the winner of three of the first four events, will lead a contingent of nine teams in the women's tournament to be played at The Club at Colony Creek. Play will be a shotgun start beginning at 8:30 a.m. each day.


Nine teams will also tee off on the men's side in the 54-hole event with play starting at 8 a.m. each day at Victoria Country Club. Players will play 36 holes on Sunday and finish up with an 18-hole final round on Monday.


Oklahoma City claimed the first two women's titles and then after being unseated by host University of Houston-Victoria, charged back last year to regain the title. OCU's Caroline Goodin, last year's individual winner, also returns to defend her title.


Four of the seven teams in last year's field are back to challenge Oklahoma City, including UHV, runner-up Texas Wesleyan, Loyola-New Orleans, and Houston St. Thomas. Wayland Baptist also returns, but only have three individuals in this year's field.


The rest of this year's field includes newcomers Louisiana College and Schreiner University, both NCAA Division III schools, along with Tyler Junior College.


Texas Wesleyan unseated Oklahoma City, who had won back-to-back titles, for the top prize last year on the men's side. With both teams out of the field this year, a new champion will be crowned.


Battling for the top spot will be two teams from UHV and Our Lady of the Lake, along with Wayland Baptist, Loyola-New Orleans, Houston St. Thomas, Louisiana College and Tyler Junior College.

Representing UHV will be Shelbi Vincent (SR/Nederland, TX), Viviana Yzquierdo (FR/Barbers Hills, TX), Reid Whaley (SO/Nederland, TX) and Jo Ellen Canales (SO/Corpus Christi, TX).


Wayland Baptist's Steven Diack, last year's individual champion, will be back to defend his title. Diack claimed the title with a one-shot victory over St. Thomas's (Fla.) Carlos Lara.


Comprising the UHV No. 1 team will be Cristian Esparza (JR/Houston, TX), Adrian Saenz (SO/Brownsville, TX), Paul Ferrette (SO/Houston, TX), Terry Strickland (FR/Missouri City, TX) and Juan David Coy (SO/Bucaramanga, Colombia), while the No. 2 team will be comprised of James Rollins (FR/Liberty Hill, TX), Preston Woodard (JR/Mansfield, TX), Brett Currie (FR/Richmond, TX), Corey Rodriguez (FR/San Marcos, TX), and Austin Bramble (FR/Beaumont, TX). Playing as individual medalists for the Jaguars will be Kaleb Pressley, Kirby Amburg (SO/Richmond, TX) and Zachary Blevins (FR/Victoria, TX).


Tournament festivities begin Saturday with a College-Am. The women begin at 11 a.m. at The Club at Colony Creek and the men at 11:30 a.m. at Victoria Country Club. The College-Am will be following by a dinner at the UHV North Building Multipurpose Room at 6:30 p.m. with former Jackson State head golf coach Eddie Payton as the guest speaker.